Wildfowl Sanctuaries

These sanctuaries are areas that have been excluded from the ‘Open Season Order’ so that game birds can rest and feed undisturbed. There are 68 sanctuaries in the State.  Shooting of game birds is not allowed in these sanctuaries.

Wildlife Sanctuary Code Sitename County
WFS-01 River Barrow (Muine Bheag) Carlow
WFS-02 Lough Oughter Group Cavan
WFS-03 Lough Ramor Cavan/Monaghan
WFS-04 Dartrey/Fairfield Cavan/Monaghan
WFS-05 Ballyallia Lake Clare
WFS-06 Islandavanna Clare
WFS-07 Mutton Island Clare
WFS-08 Ballynamona - Shannagarry Cork
WFS-09 Kilcolman Bog Cork
WFS-10 Lough Aderry Cork
WFS-11 The Lee Reservoir Cork
WFS-12 The Lough, Cork Cork
WFS-13 Ards Donegal
WFS-14 Blanket Nook Donegal
WFS-15 Dunfanaghy Lake Donegal
WFS-16 Lough Fern Donegal
WFS-17 Trawbreaga Bay Donegal
WFS-18 Brittas Ponds Dublin
WFS-19 The North Bull Island Dublin
WFS-20 Rogerstown Estuary Dublin
WFS-21 Coole Lough Galway
WFS-22 Lough Derg (parts) Galway
WFS-23 Muckanagh/Cloonlaughnan Galway/Roscommon
WFS-24 Coon, Ventry Kerry
WFS-25 Derrycunnihy/Gallavally Kerry
WFS-26 Doolough/Tullaha Kerry
WFS-27 Inch/Castlemaine Harbour Kerry
WFS-28 Lough Gill Kerry
WFS-29 Rossbehy/Caragh Creek Kerry
WFS-30 Ballynafagh Lake (Blackwood Lake) Kildare
WFS-31 River Barrow (Goresbridge) Kilkenny
WFS-32 Lough Cullin (Holy Lake) Kilkenny
WFS-33 Lough Gur Limerick
WFS-34 City of Limerick (part) Limerick
WFS-35 Ballymascanlan Estuary Louth
WFS-36 Lurgan Green Louth
WFS-37 Carrowmore Lake Mayo
WFS-38 Inishkea Islands Mayo
WFS-39 Lough Carra Mayo
WFS-40 Lough Conn Mayo
WFS-41 Boyne Estuary (part) Meath/Louth
WFS-42 Emy Lough Monaghan
WFS-43 Little Brosna (part) Offaly
WFS-44 Annaghmore Lough Roscommon
WFS-45 Lough Croan Roscommon
WFS-46 Lough Funshinagh Roscommon
WFS-47 Lough Key (part) Roscommon
WFS-48 Lough Gara Sligo
WFS-49 Drumcliff Bay (part) Sligo
WFS-50 Coolfin Marshes Waterford
WFS-51 River Blackwater Waterford
WFS-52 Coosan Lough/Killinure Westmeath
WFS-53 Lough Iron Westmeath
WFS-54 River Slaney (part) Wexford
WFS-55 Rosslare Point Wexford
WFS-56 Tacumshin Lake (part) Wexford
WFS-57 Tern Island Wexford
WFS-58 Broad Lough Wicklow
WFS-59 Poulaphouca Wicklow
WFS-60 Tullaher Lough Clare
WFS-61 Sheskinmore Lough Donegal
WFS-62 Lough Rusheen Galway
WFS-63 Moyne Galway/Mayo
WFS-64 Marlfield Lake Tipperary
WFS-65 Bannow Bay Wexford
WFS-66 Lough Mask Mayo
WFS-67 Douglas Estuary Cork
WFS-68 Inagh River (part) Clare