NPWS Regional Management

Regional Management Structure

The National Parks and Wildlife Service has a regional operations structure comprised of nine divisions:

Regional Management is responsible for:

  • Implementation and enforcement of the Wildlife Acts 1976-2000, the Whale Fisheries Acts and the Regulations which bring the Habitats and Birds Directives into force
  • Management of the state-owned Nature Reserves and National Parks
  • Advice to planning and other consent authorities on the impacts of development applications and plans on biodiversity
  • Participation in research and survey projects by collecting data within their areas
  • Provision of an education and advisory service to the public

For further information or to contact your local NPWS District Conservation Officer, please see the Contact Us page.